September 27, 2010

Raging at the Universe

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 9:46 pm by silversnowdragon

I know I am not the only one out there looking for a job, and I’m not the only one utterly frustrated with the process. I just wanted to get that out there at the start.

But I am particularly disappointed tonight.

I interviewed for a position with a pharma company outside of Boston. Great position, great company. I thought the interview went really well and I was really excited about the chance to take on this new role.

But no such luck. I got an email late this evening from the recruiter letting me know that they’d already settled on two final candidates, and I was not one of them.

The problem with getting excited about a role is that it raises the chance you will be really disappointed if it doesn’t work out. That’s where I am right now. This rejection hurt. First I just felt sad and then the frustration bubbled until I was ready to rage at the universe and shout “Why not? What’s wrong with me?”

Yea, yea, that’s negative thinking. I know it isn’t “me” per se – it is whether I am a match for the job. But I know me, and I know what a good job I can do. I just need a company to give me a chance.

They won’t regret it.

1 Comment »

  1. missdisplaced said,

    Ugh! I had a good interview last week, and the next day they emailed me wanting to schedule a second interview with the company president on Monday. Monday morning I got up, and when I checked my email THEY CANCELLED because they hired an internal candidate.

    Wha? When, like over the weekend they decided? WHY did they even bother scheduling that seconded interview with me? Lameo.


Leave a Reply

