July 22, 2010

Since When is 10 a “Plus Size”?

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 8:08 pm by silversnowdragon

Seriously.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit, I need to trim a few inches from my waistline. And for the most part, I stay out of the whole I’m-too-fat-look-at-how-thin-SHE-is thing. There is such a thing as a healthy weight for everyone. My healthy weight at 5′ 8″ is going to be different than someone who is only 5′ 0″.

But I just saw a quick headline about Crystal Renn, a so-called “plus size” model who is upset because her photos for a magazine were retouched to apparently make her size 10 figure look like a size 2.

Okay, I support her for calling out a magazine for doing retouches at that level. I know models get air-brushed. I don’t really care. As a matter of fact, I don’t read fashion magazines. I believe they are solely designed to make women feel inadequate and badly about themselves so that companies can sell them creams and make-up and clothes and things to try to make up for it. Ladies, you are just fine the way you are. People don’t like it, they can piss off. Be proud of who you really are.

But what shocked me in this article was the fact that Crystal is considered a “plus sized” model at size 10. What the hell? Since when is a 10 a plus size? We so need a reality check on this.

Remember ladies, the right size for you depends on your height, your body type, your age and other factors. Yes, for some people a 10 might be heavy… but for your average American woman?

I don’t think we need to start qualifying a 10 as “plus size.” Do you?

1 Comment »

  1. noskinnywomen said,

    Totally agreed. Did a post about this a few days ago too. Not about Crystal Renn (although I know about the photos you’re talking about) but about a “plus size” model in a catalog we got. Ridiculous.


Leave a Reply

