January 10, 2009

And the world turns

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:34 am by silversnowdragon

Sometimes, I’m not so good with things changing. If you ask my husband, he’d probably said I’m not good with them at all (he’s had to deal with my fretting before, so he knows what he’s talking about).

But sometimes, I’m better with it.

I ride horses. I’ve ridden horses since I was about 7 years old. Suffice to say, I’ve been riding for a long time.

Over the past several years, since about 2003, I’ve been riding a horse named Hawk. He’s owned by other people but I chip in on his upkeep and get to ride him several days a week. He is a sweet horse, one of the equine loves of my life, but he’s got his issues. He was not treated well in his younger years. He was a rancher’s horse and he came to us with a lot of issues – couldn’t touch his ears, afraid of being in a stall, serious mounting block issues. But there’s something about this horse that I just love, even with all the problems.

And he’s come a long way. Just this summer we competed in a jumper show. Just the two-foot-three fences. Nothing big, but for a horse who was two steps away from hysterical when we first asked him to go over ground poles, it was a big deal. I was really proud of him.

Unfortunately, this summer he hurt his stifle (knee joint on the hind leg)… that was a long layup and I couldn’t ride. Since December, he’s been slowly going back to work and his lameness has been intermittent. But his owner had been progressing and I was hoping to be back on him soon.

But something kept nagging at me. Something told me that he just wasn’t going to stay consistently sound.

I just found out that the stifle went out again. Now he’s back to the drawing board. And it is entirely possible that Hawk will just need to be retired. They’re looking at other options, so it isn’t set in stone…

But now I need to look for another horse to lease. I’m sad that it doesn’t look like I’ll be riding Hawk any more, but this particular change in my equine life isn’t freaking me out like some other changes do. Maybe it was the intuition. Maybe in some subtle horse language, Hawk was telling me it is time for a change. I don’t know.

I do know that the photo of me with Hawk that I have in my hall will never come down. He is one of those very special horses that you always have a soft spot in your heart for…

Leave a Reply

